User Tools

Site Tools


Different CPU types

The Rockwell data booklet 29651N52 (technical information about R65C00 microprocessors, dated October 1984), lists the following differences between NMOS R6502 microprocessor and CMOS R65C00 family:

 1. Indexed addressing across page boundary.
        NMOS: Extra read of invalid address.
        CMOS: Extra read of last instruction byte.

 2. Execution of invalid op codes.
        NMOS: Some terminate only by reset. Results are undefined.
        CMOS: All are NOPs (reserved for future use).

 3. Jump indirect, operand = XXFF.
        NMOS: Page address does not increment.
        CMOS: Page address increments and adds one additional cycle.

 4. Read/modify/write instructions at effective address.
        NMOS: One read and two write cycles.
        CMOS: Two read and one write cycle.

 5. Decimal flag.
        NMOS: Indeterminate after reset.
        CMOS: Initialized to binary mode (D=0) after reset and interrupts.

 6. Flags after decimal operation.
        NMOS: Invalid N, V and Z flags.
        CMOS: Valid flag adds one additional cycle.

 7. Interrupt after fetch of BRK instruction.
        NMOS: Interrupt vector is loaded, BRK vector is ignored.
        CMOS: BRK is executed, then interrupt is executed.
base/different_cpu_types.txt · Last modified: 2015-04-17 04:31 by